Something Worth Fighting For

relationshipWalking around the stores this time of year with children, can be risky business. We all know the marketing ploy to purposely put toys and candy out to catch kids attention. I’ve been fortunate enough to have children who do not cause too big of a scene when they hear the word NO. I’ve also been in the store when a child doesn’t get his or her way and wants to let the WHOLE world know about it. They’ll fight, yell, and lay on the ground kicking and screaming all because of a plastic toy. While I sit back and think of how dreaded that moment must be for a parent, I’m also left wondering, could I have some of that kind of passion for the things I find precious? Not the material possessions of the world…that would just be embarrassing, but what if I put that kind of energy into fighting for my relationship with God?

We’re told in Psalm 139:17, How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Imagine living like that is true. How different would your life be? Would you spend more time contemplating God’s thoughts? Would you research, have discussions and share God’s thoughts with others? Would you fight to let the WHOLE world know about God’s vast words of truth? If His thoughts are truly precious, which they are, then I think our lives should reflect what we believe to be true. We should want to know God more than a child wants a new Lego set or a teen wants a new iPhone.

The amazing contrast to our fickle desire to know God, is His immeasurable love for us. 1 Peter 1:18,19 says, For you know that God paid a ransom to save you from the empty life you inherited from your ancestors. And the ransom he paid was not mere gold or silver. It was the precious blood of Christ, the sinless, spotless Lamb of God. When people say, “I’m just too busy to spend time building my relationship with God,” I can’t help but think, “I’m glad God didn’t say He was too busy to give up His life for us.” I’ve found myself using similar excuses over the years, so I’m not here to cast stones at people who fail to make God a priority in their life. But I do intend to challenge our church to step up their relationship with God this coming year. We do not want to grow complacent. We will fight to strengthen our relationship with God because we love Him and He is PRECIOUS to us!

Something Worth Fighting For

Leave a Reply

